This is Not a Sad Story — A Memoir

The title just about says it. This is not a sad story, but it is the story of my life thus far. As such, it’s near and dear to my heart — which is why I’m sharing it with you. Here’s some more info.

Publication Schedule: New episodes will be published weekly, on Wednesdays c. 12:00 PM (noon), New York time. (I’m near Boston, but people know New York better! Same time zone for those keeping track.) In terms of reading in order… Feel free to read in order, or out of order. Each episode touches on a different time period of my life but also different issues. I’ll list a few below each so you can pick and choose according to your fancy.

Content Disclaimer: This story touches on some of the darker aspects of life. I’ll put content disclaimers at the top of each chapter, as well, so that you’ll be able to screen your reading experience as need be.

Questions, Concerns, Comments, Critiques: Feel free to contact me with questions and concerns via the What is this all about? page, or by email at If your query pertains directly to This is Not a Sad Story, then please use the subject line COMMENT-VOYAGE OF THE MIND-THIS IS NOT A SAD STORY. If your question, comment, or concern is general, please use normal subject line, COMMENT-VOYAGE OF THE MIND. Thank you!

If you enjoy this content… I only ask one thing of you — that you recommend it to a friend who you think could use its message, or that you take the time to share it via a social network of your choosing. I wouldn’t police this point even if I could, obviously, but it would be greatly appreciated if you took it up! And I would love to see any comments about the work, from “I loved it” to “I think you should change X.” One of the great things about publishing online is that a work can be a work-in-progress even while being read.

Table of Contents

Episode One: Genesis

— Early childhood memories. A “prologue” of sorts leading into the real deal.

Episode Two: Heritage

— My half-Asian heritage. A bit of family history from my mother’s side of the family (my Korean side).

Episode Three: Childhood

— Towards the entrance of the tunnel. After this, it gets dark. More childhood memories, my closest childhood friend, struggles with anger and emotion management, and how and why I started to write.

Episode Four: Depression

— The fifth grade experience that I used to believe singlehandedly catalyzed my depression, and the problems I have now with thinking about it that way.

Episode Five: Lucid

— Middle school. Problems with authority figures. The great bagel fight of seventh grade. Dreams and nightmares. Thinking about the future.

Episode Six: Pretender

— A move into high school. How I pretended my way through freshman year. Pretending to be stupid. Pretending to be cool. Pretending to be okay.

Episode Seven: Exoskeleton

— Sophomore year. Emotional difficulty. Thinking about love for the first time in my life.

%d bloggers like this: